CIP-102: Change PoW mining algorithm

cip title author status type created
102 Change PoW mining algorithm Chenxing Li(@ChenxingLi) Draft Spec Breaking 2022-08-05

Simple Summary

Change PoW mining algorithm to Ethash.

Abstract

Change PoW mining algorithm to Ethash.

Motivation

Make it easier for Ethereum miners to switch to Conflux.

Specification

TBA.

Rationale

TBA.

Backwards Compatibility

This change is spec breaking.

Test Cases

TBA.

Implementation

TBA.

Security Considerations

Copyright

Copyright and related rights waived via CC0.

17 Likes

Love to hear from all the miners their thoughts on this.

2 Likes

I have read the CIP and allow myself to give U my personal opinion here bc, as U surely know, I have been mining Conflux since February 2021.

I fully understand this questioning bc it can be very tempting to switch Octopus algo to EtHash. :+1:

Advantages:

• Optimize the hashrate for AMD GPUs because mining under Octopus is not economically viable with these cards.
  • Reduce the power consumption of the rig (bc Octopus consumes slightly more than EtHash).

Disadvantages:

• EtHash is not ASIC resistant, it can accelerate the centralization of the hashrate (the decentralization is one of the major marketing points of Conflux Network).
  • The Octopus algo is “the trademark” of the Conflux blockchain, it risks losing its soul.

The motivation of “Make it easier for Ethereum miners to switch to Conflux.” isn’t valid (for NVIDIA GPUs miners), it’s very easy to switch between ETH mining and CFX mining, whether on HiveOS and even easier on Windows. OC settings are almost identical, just increase a little bit the PL due to power consumption.